Orioles Win Championship, Continue Dominance

Jack Ceppetelli manages O’s to Second Straight Playoff Title.

The defending champion Vernon Orioles capped their playoff run on Saturday night at Trinity College with a 4-0 win over the Record-Journal Expos to take home another trophy. Jared Hyde threw 5 no-hit innings with 4 walks and 2 strikeouts to earn the victory before giving way to Tyler Pogmore, who allowed 2 hits with 1 strikeout in recording the final 6 outs to preserve the shutout.

Vernon took the lead in the bottom of the second inning as Alex Zachary stroked a leadoff ground-rule double to center field, stole third, and came home on a one out sacrifice fly by Wes Hurty. The Orioles added three more runs in the fifth. After a leadoff single by Zach Donahue, a walk to Dan Trubia and a wild pitch put runners at second and third with one out, Jack Halpin lined a single to left scoring two. Paul Dougan followed with a single to left to drive in Halpin.

The win was Vernon’s 5th in 5 days and second straight win over the Expos. The O’s avenged a 2-0 opening round loss, after which the Orioles outscored their opponents 32-2 in their run through the loser’s bracket. The Orioles, who finished the season with a combined record of 28-2. It addition to another Playoff Championship, Vernon won their fifth consecutive Regular Season Title.

Congratulations to the O’s!

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− 7 = 2